Forum Settings
       
Reply To Thread

Question About Character Wipe After Phase 3Follow

#1 Jun 14 2013 at 11:00 AM Rating: Decent
*
125 posts
Is this an erase character as in name, and customization? Or just an erase of accomplishments? Or both? About to make my character, and if it, itself, is gonna be erase, then I can fool around with this. :)

Edited, Jun 14th 2013 1:01pm by SirLuciousLeftfoot
#2 Jun 14 2013 at 11:05 AM Rating: Decent
**
352 posts
On this .pdf i downloaded it says phase 3 character will be deleted the start of phase 4.
#3 Jun 14 2013 at 11:05 AM Rating: Decent
**
424 posts
I heard they wipe out your characters from phase 3, but the ones created from phase 4 will carry over.
#4 Jun 14 2013 at 11:19 AM Rating: Good
**
254 posts
yeah, there will be nothing left of anything you create in phase 3 coming to phase 4
#5 Jun 14 2013 at 11:20 AM Rating: Good
*
125 posts
Ok, so I would have to rebuild him again. Booo... lol Thanks for the info.
#6 Jun 14 2013 at 11:32 AM Rating: Good
Use your time to learn your way around and to make gil!


And if you're feeling kind you could, you know, give some beta test feedback too. :3
#7 Jun 14 2013 at 11:34 AM Rating: Decent
***
1,163 posts
Phase 1 went to phase 2 but got deleted for 3
Phase 3 will delete for 4
Phase 4 will go to release except a few things. Like points or rank in PVP, maybe story line progress, some quests, etc. I'm sure they will tell us what at the start of 4. I personally would not want to do mission data twice, or quest, so I would like to know. Rank in PvP will delete though and things like that.
#8 Jun 14 2013 at 12:36 PM Rating: Good
This is one reason I decided against making my "final" character in phase 3. I was worried about getting too attached to my characters so they are not using my final names, nor am I starting on my intended jobs for the "live" version.
#9 Jun 15 2013 at 1:42 AM Rating: Good
*
199 posts
I didn't start in my intended city because I didn't want to "spoil" the story for there. I did try and make the character I want so I can play as her and make sure I do like her, even after actually playing as her for awhile.

I wrote down the options I picked before I finalized my character so I'd remember.

Question on phase 4. I heard the leveling is accelerated in phase 3 so people can get to higher levels and test out as much content as possible. Well the leveling be accelerated in phase 4 as well?
#10 Jun 15 2013 at 11:28 AM Rating: Default
16 posts
Beta testers should be allowed to carry over their characters and accomplishments to "live" as a reward for their hard work and thorough inspection of the game and providing all that valuable feedback to ffxiv developers ^_____________________^
#11 Jun 15 2013 at 11:28 AM Rating: Good
You can in Phase 4.
#12 Jun 15 2013 at 11:31 AM Rating: Decent
Ken Burton's Reject
*****
12,834 posts
OK here's a question: What if your character is a legacy one? I honestly have not looked at said PDF yet, I just saw the email this morning. If I were to actually login on my original account, will just the progress be wiped or will my entire character get wiped?

Edit:

And no, cannot look from where I am right now >.>;;

Edited, Jun 15th 2013 1:32pm by Pawkeshup
____________________________
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/pawkeshup
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/pawkeshup
Twitch: http://www.twitch.tv/pawkeshup
Blog: http://pawkeshup.blogspot.com
Olorinus the Ludicrous wrote:
The idea of old school is way more interesting than the reality
#13 Jun 15 2013 at 12:19 PM Rating: Excellent
***
3,737 posts
Pawkeshup, Averter of the Apocalypse wrote:
OK here's a question: What if your character is a legacy one? I honestly have not looked at said PDF yet, I just saw the email this morning. If I were to actually login on my original account, will just the progress be wiped or will my entire character get wiped?

Edit:

And no, cannot look from where I am right now >.>;;

Edited, Jun 15th 2013 1:32pm by Pawkeshup


I imagine the phase 3 import of your legacy character would be deleted and you'd need to import it again in phase 4.
____________________________
svlyons wrote:
If random outcomes aren't acceptable to you, then don't play with random people.
#14 Jun 15 2013 at 6:03 PM Rating: Good
22 posts
Will it save the character design data?
#15 Jun 15 2013 at 6:13 PM Rating: Good
**
832 posts
Ueno54 wrote:
Will it save the character design data?

Currently I can use any character design from 1.0 and earlier phases of beta.
#16 Jun 15 2013 at 7:08 PM Rating: Good
***
1,313 posts
I'm pretty sure the data/customization is a saved file on your hard drive.
#17 Jun 15 2013 at 7:48 PM Rating: Decent
**
320 posts
They're using phase 3 to test the legacy character copy. All characters will be wiped at the beginning of Phase 4 and anything from 4 on is kept for release.

That's the stated plan at least.
Reply To Thread

Colors Smileys Quote OriginalQuote Checked Help

 

Recent Visitors: 17 All times are in CST
Anonymous Guests (17)